GET OUT

I recently watched Get Out a movie directed by Jordan Peele. Does that name sound familiar? If so, it’s probably because you watched a pretty funny show called Key and Peele. Get Out was to my knowledge Peele’s first big movie released that directed. He had a budget of 4.5 million, during the opening weekend he grossed a whopping 30.5 million. I’m not going to ruin the story line for people reading that haven’t seen the movie yet. The success of Get Out has sparked major controversial conversations across the country. Is the movie racist? Did the movie have a deeper meaning or was it just a good scary movie? 

I personally think that the movie was a solid 10/10. I’ve talked to a few friends and family about the movie and they agreed too. My thoughts on the movie were that it definitely had a deeper meaning than just your everyday scary movie. I think it showed a little bit of history in it without even trying to. I know I said I wouldn’t spoil it, but whatever. For example,  there was one scene where they were auctioning Chris (Black actor) off in the movie while him and Rose were away on a walk. That just kind of symbolized how slaves were auctioned off during slavery times. There were a few other scenes that kind of showed signs of how slavery was, but I’ll spare the audience that hasn’t seen the movie. 

All in all the movie touches on some very touchy subjects through subtle messages. I’ve read a few blogs and people have talked about how they’ve seen small stuff in the movie with big messages so I plan on using a gift card to watch it one more time. This blog will be continued once I gather even more information that I missed from the first time I watched. I 15/10 recommend everybody go watch it. 

Leave a Reply

